Department of Physics

Physics is the natural science that studies matter in atomic level, its motion, and behavior through space and time. Physics is one of the most fundamental scientific disciplines, and its main goal is to understand how the universe is created and how it behaves.

Physics is one of the oldest academic disciplines through its inclusion of astronomy. Over the past two millennia, physics, chemistry, biology, and certain branches of mathematics, were a part of natural philosophy, but during the scientific revolution in the 17th century these natural sciences emerged as unique research endeavors in their own right. Physics intersects with many interdisciplinary areas of research, such as biophysics, medical physics and quantum chemistry, nano-physics, reactor physics etc. The first half of this century saw a revolution in physics, in which "classical" physics, which reigned supreme at the turn of the century, was replaced in the domain of the very large by relativity and in that of the very small by quantum theory. Physics is not just a branch of technology but is one of the humanities, in the sense that its study is one road towards an understanding of our place in the Universe. 

Department of Physics is one of the largest and rich departments of Jagannath University, Dhaka. It offers Bachelor of Science and Master of Science under the Fuculty of Science. The Master of Philosophy and Doctor of Philosophy have also been started. For the undergraduate level, the whole programme consists of 138 credits (Effective for 2018-19 and 2019-20 session).

Degree Offered Faculty Members Students
  Bachelor of Science (B. Sc.)   Professor : 6 nos. Undergraduate : 500 (approx.)
  Master of Science (M. Sc.)   Associate Professor : 6 nos. Graduate : 200 (approx.)
 Master of Phylosophy (M. Phil.)   Assistant Professor : 10 nos.  
  Doctor of Phylosophy (Ph. D.)   Lecturers : 4 nos